RSS

Rhys Ifans talks The superb Spider-Man’s Lizard

15 Sep

When it involves playing Dr. Curt Connors – AKA the Lizard – within the Amazing Spider-Man, Rhys Ifans didn’t wish anyone doing away with his ability to create the character. "The majority of the time I’m me, I’m a human, not a Lizard. That’s hard enough. I did have the CGI suit for certain scenes,” he told Cinema Blend. “The Lizard is nine-feet tall. There has been sooner or later that I went on set they usually had a double, a big, big guy, playing me, because the Lizard. I checked out it and that i went: ‘No.’ Following that Marc [Webb] let me know the entire physicality you will see within the Lizard is my own." Once he had the director’s word that the Lizard can be all him, he was amazed at what the technology could do to assist that: "I had a green suit on, after which this cardboard head and these big claws. It was essentially the most fucking insane…” A cardboard head! It doesn’t sound that high-tech but Ifans isn’t finished yet. “Each and each time you notice the Lizard, the technology is so advanced now that once the Lizard’s eyes move, they’re my eyes. If I frown or show any emotion, they’re my emotions." The Amazing Spider-Man opens July 2012.



 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 15, 2011 in Magazine

 

Leave a Reply

 
